The latest stories, straight to your inbox

The latest stories, straight to your inbox

Be inspired every day with Living North

Subscribe today and get every issue delivered direct to your door
Subscribe Now
Be inspired every day with Living North
On the left is a woman smiling holding a book she wrote. On the right is a repeated book cover and sticker which says LJ Ross Book Club
Staying in
February 2023
Reading time 3 Minutes

You may have heard of LJ Ross' Book Group pick this month

Northumberland-born LJ Ross is the bestselling author of the DCI Ryan murder mystery series. Each month, she shares an exclusive Book Club pick with Living North readers.
Book cover with a sticker which says LJ Ross Book Club

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

This month’s LJ Ross Book Club selection is Delia Owens’ blockbuster novel, Where the Crawdads Sing. Although the name might be known to many readers already, given its enormous worldwide success and, of course, its recent dramatisation, there may be some who have shied away from picking it up for that very reason – can the book live up to its hype? It tells the tale of Kya, a woman abandoned by her family as a child, who attempts to fend for herself in the marshes of North Carolina much to the dismay of her neighbours in the small, fictional town of Barkley Cove who take to calling her ‘The Marsh Girl’. Soon, she finds herself a suspect in the murder investigation of a former boyfriend, Chase, formerly the town’s star quarterback and all-round golden boy, who had behaved badly towards her and whom she had threatened to kill…

LJ’s Thoughts:

‘Sometimes, you really do fall into a story, and this was my experience when I read Delia Owens’ book. Where the Crawdads Sing is a triumph, plain and simple; richly textured with the author’s own knowledge of the flora and fauna of the marshes, dialect and customs of that part of the world, and finely crafted with characters who truly live and breathe. This was, for me, a wonderful novel. Best described as a coming-of-age murder mystery, it has a little of everything: darkness and light, pathos and humour, as well as some careful pacing which allows the reader to draw out their enjoyment of each chapter.’

Buy here

This article contains affiliate links. We may receive a commission on any sales we generate from this piece.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Please read our Cookie policy.